The same, but different

I think this may be the first year that my New Year’s goals are not “lose weight” or “exercise more.” it’s not that I don’t want to do these things. I am still 20 pounds away from that ever-elusive “goal” that will make me a Lifetime Weight Watchers member. I just think that slowly my attitude has changed towards the whole thing. I think for a while I felt like once I got there, things wild magically be fixed, as if I’d never have to worry about it again. But truth is, I’ve been doing it so long now that it has become part of my life, and the goal num er doesn’t seem as important to me as it did before.

I weigh the same today as I did in January. That says alot. It says that although I’ve been to a WW meeting almost every week this year, I haven’t lost anymore weight. It also says that I haven’t regained all 78ish pounds back. I’ve been up and down, usually between 2-3 pounds, with the occasional jump from a wild weekend or holiday. But I’ve always managed to get right back on track. I think this means I’ve learned some stuff.

But I have changed this year. My body has changed. I changed my exercise habits, joined a gym and started doing crazy spin and step classes. I lift a few weights here and there. I know I’m stronger now than I was this time last year. Since joining the gym in August, I have never once used one of their treadmills. I’m all about trying new stuff. I’m not afraid to walk into a new class and be stuck I the front. I can keep up, I can last the whole hour, even if I sometimes curse under my breath for the first 15 minutes.

In other areas of my life there are always ways to do better. I always ask for more patience. Who doesn’t? There are lots of things I want to start working on, non-fitnessy areas of my life. But I’m not going to make big statements about what those things are. Why set myself up for feeling like a failure if, for whatever reason, things turn out differently than I’d hoped?

So there will be no resolutions this year, fitness related or otherwise. I feel like I’m doing my best, most days, and I’m happy with where I am. So, I’m just gonna keep moving. Onward.

My wish for myself and to all is a happy, healthy New Year, filled with blessings.

Leave a Reply

