Everything will be fine…

Picture 3

This is how I know. 

This morning was the second time in my life that I have run for 25 consecutive minutes. Without stopping. I feel the need to throw that in every time I tell someone. Is that annoying? I feel like I have to tell them, I ran without stopping! *cue confetti* 

As for weigh ins, no confetti for me. I feel like a freaking science experiment. Try less points, try more points, move the points around, eat standing on your head. The pounds aren't budging. This week I was up 1.4. It makes no sense. But I'm less upset about it now. Mostly. 

I thought I'd share what's going through my head as I take these amazing, 25 minute long runs…as illustrated through my playlist.

1.    Warm up song- "How to Save a Life" by The Fray

'Cause I'm saving my life, right? By doing all this crazy running and sweating? I'm so much healthier that I was two years ago. 

2.    "Whataya Want From Me?" by Adam Lambert

This is what I am screaming at the scale in my head. Lyrics that speak to me: "Just don't give up,     I'm working it out. Just don't give in."  "It's plain to see, baby you're beautiful. There's nothing wrong with you." 

3.    "Hey, Soul Sister" by Train

I just like this song, plus I think Pat Monahan is cute, and he could be singing this to me, right? "the way you move ain't fair, you know." 

4.     "Bust a Move"  Glee Cast version

Well, gotta have this one in there, right? 'Cause I'm bustin' some major moves. 

5.     "Naturally" by Selena Gomez (don't laugh)

"You are the thunder and I am the lightning." 'Cause I run like lighting…or something. "A force of nature, your energy, it comes naturally." NOT, but I'd like to think so, maybe. 

6.     "Telephone" by Lady Gaga

Let's face it, it's a good keep you moving song. No inspirational message here, except maybe that I can't answer the phone 'cause I'm ru-ru-running. 

7.    "So What" by Pink

"I am a rock star." 'Nuff said.

8.    "I Gotta Feeling" by Black Eyed Peas

This is where I realize I'm almost done, and the feeling is THANKFUL TO THE LORD that I'm still alive. 

9.    "Details in the Fabric" by Jason Mraz

My cooldown song. The first few words of the song are:

"Calm down, deep breaths." Exactly what I need. Reminders to breathe, 'cause it ain't easy at this point. 

"Hang on, help is on the way. Stay strong, I'm doing everything" 

"Hold your own, know your name, go your own way."

"Everything will be fine."

This song is how I feel when I realize I can get through this kind of run. I'm never sure when I start out, but every minute that passes makes me feel stronger. And I just keep thinking that I should just keep going and see what happens. Whatever it is, it's not gonna be bad. I've never been able to do this before, I never thought I could go this far. Whether it's the 25 minute run, or the amount of weight I've lost, I've never been able to visualize it, because I didn't think I could do it. But now I know I can.

And everything is going to be just fine. 

 

8 thoughts on “Everything will be fine…

  1. You are amazing!
    I know the scale is making you angry. Check your measurements asap – is there a difference? A few weeks ago when I was gaining and I wanted to kick my scales butt, I checked my measurements and there was a huge difference!
    I am so excited for you. Your running is fantastic – you are super fast. πŸ™‚
    BTW, I run to “Telephone” and Adam Lambert too. Have you heard Agnes “Release Me?” I love that song while I’m doing my C25K thing!
    Julia
    http://jewliagoulia.blogspot.com

  2. Great playlist, I’ll put that on my iPod for my terribly exciting walks around the track at the gym.
    My dad says he has always found diet and exercise mutually exclusive. Maybe you are at that point where your exercise is vigorous enough to make you hungry. Perhaps you’re close to the point where you stop dieting, continue to eat in a healthy way, and increase exercise.
    But what do I know? I’m not exercising consistently, unless you count carrying groceries and kids.

  3. Deb–
    CONGRATS on running 25 minutes straight. What a high you must have been on when you finished!
    And isn’t I Got a Feeling THE best running song!? Even when my butt is dragging, that tune gets my rear in gear.
    Keep up the good work.
    -SBS

  4. Deb,
    This is the first time I stumbled onto your blog. I love the wit and honesty you bring. Congrats on running, congrats on continuing even when the scale says quit.
    I have been in a yo-yo up and down weight myself. For almost three months I have gained and lost and gained, etc. the same four pounds. I am frustrated!
    Its nice to know that someone is kinda going through the same thing and that you are handling it in such stride. Thanks.

  5. I’ve been meaning to make my way to your site for the longest time but I’m terrible and actually leaving the comfort of Google Reader πŸ™‚ 25 consecutive minutes is a great accomplishment Deb! Nice work! As for the music, I’ll have to find me some of that!
    P.S. I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

