I did it and I didn’t die.

Today I started Week 4 of the Couch25k running program. I was nervous. It would be my longest run ever.

5 minutes. 

Don't laugh, 5 minutes of straight, non-stop running? Are you kidding me? 

So, it's 3 minutes of running, 90 second recovery, 5 minutes of running, 2 minute recovery. Repeat. 

I thought for sure I would have to stop and walk. I considered repeating week 3 before starting this. But, I decided to give it a shot. 

And I did it. No stopping to walk. I went straight through.

There was sweat, MAN was there sweat. 

And I didn't die. Didn't even really feel like I couldn't make it. 

And I realized something. I am getting stronger. I am getting fitter. 

It's working. 

As for the weigh-in on Sunday…not so much. I was only down .2 . As in, two-tenths of a pound. But, at least it wasn't up again.  I'm still up about a half a pound for the month.  

But today I don't feel so bad. I'm dang proud of myself. 

Next week might do me in, though. Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “I did it and I didn’t die.

  1. Yay! I totally remember starting that week (which I did twice) thinking No Way. No Way can I run 5 minutes. But isn’t it funny how our body knows more than our brains? GOOD WORK!!

Leave a Reply

