It’s summer again…

Which means so many things. It means that my days are longer. Way, way longer. For the next three weeks, I have to get up even earlier, because the boys are in summer school, which starts a half hour earlier than regular school. Who was the genius who thought that would be a good idea? Once summer school's over, I'm sure they'll still get up early. It's one of those built-in kid things, you know, how they only want to stay in bed when you need them to get up NOW, but when you think you could sleep in for a minute longer they wake up like an hour before anyone needs to. I'm sure it's in the wiring.

Summer also means that I'm sure I'll hardly touch this blog until, probably August. When I'm pulling my hair out and needing to vent a bit. Take that back, that could happen by the end of the month. Anyway, we don't have much in the way of "structured" activities this summer. I had the brilliant idea that I would be more active with the kids, we'll go to the park, the zoo, out on playdates. You know, normal stuff. Stuff that I didn't feel like doing last summer. I guess I"m bound and determined to exhaust myself completely by September. What the heck was I thinking? We'll just see how it works out.

I also wanted to brag about my no longer a Kindergartener boy. We attended his Kindergarten graduation ceremony this week. I have to admit I was a bit nervous. I knew he'd been practicing the songs, and he'd been working out the "choreography," but I also know that if a big crowd starts applauding and woo-hooing, he tends to get a little overwhelmed and emotional. If it happens after "happy birthday" it's bound to happen here. Well, it turns out that my little man has a love of the spotlight that I never knew about.  He got up on stage, sang his little heart out (along with all the appropriate "moves") and never let that smile leave his face. He honestly looked like he was having the time of his life. And when the applause came, the smile got even bigger. He loved it. I even got to be the parent with the kid who yells, "Hi, Mama!" It was fabulous. And then, as he came down the stairs when his name was called, he looked over at me and said, "Mom, I love you!" I nearly melted into the ground. I am so proud of this little boy my heart could just burst. He works his little butt off at school. He's super smart, but holding it together all day everyday is tough. And he's doing great. Just look at him.
DSC_0131

His teacher has been with him since he was barely 3 years old. Next year he'll be moving to a new school, with all new teachers. It's going to be rough for all of us. But he's faced every new situation with more bravery than I could have imagined. He's braver than I am, that's for sure. 

So, I'm starting off the summer with high hopes. My plan is to have fun, enjoy my time with the kids, and drink lots and lots of coffee.

Leave a Reply

