life on the treadmill

My morning goes something like this. 6:00ish-Wake up, grudgingly, jump in the shower while hubby takes the two dogs out for a quick walk in the dark. (Thank God he does it 'cause otherwise the poor things would be crated til at least 9:00) I need to be out by the time he's back so I can help dry them up and take them off of his hands so he can jump in the shower.  Then, I start packing lunches, get the kids up, dressed, teeth brushed and fed. Not necessarily in that order.  Check the backpacks, finish any unfinished homework, sign the papers that need to be signed.  Do Madelyn's hair. Both boys are out the door and on the bus at 7:55.  Hop on the treadmill.  30 minutes. Get off the treadmill, get Madelyn on the bus at 8:45.  Come back in the house.  Feed the dogs. Exhale. Feed myself. Drink coffee.  Mmm.  So that's my morning, 5 days out of the week. 

The rest of the day goes by so fast. 

Now that Sam's in preschool, I get a couple of hours of quiet to get something done. Problem is, I'm so exhausted from my morning madness that I rarely actually get anything done. But at least it's quiet.  Then before you know it the kids come trickling in, each at a different time, off of the school bus. I get in another 30 minutes on the treadmill. And then it's homework and dinner and bathtime and, *sigh* bedtime.  Then a couple of more hours until I'm out for the night.

And then I get up and do it all over again. It's crazy. It's kinda like that treadmill, it's so automatic. Just put one foot in front of the other, don't think about it much, just do it. Again and again. And again. It's a good thing I like these people.

Photo 12
Leave a Reply

