Back to school

DSC_0126 I love this time of year. Back to school, September, October, November. The fall is my favorite season of the year. Gives me energy. I can always use more of that. The kids got started on Monday, with a full day of school. Sam gets me all to himself for 5 hours, 5 days a week. Okay, well, now he has to share me with the dog, but it all seems to be working out. We've been taking her on a walk in the afternoon, which tuckers both of them out nicely. It's kind of quiet here with out the bigger kids. I'm actually enjoying spending time with just Sam. With two kids in school full time now, I am realizing how fast time goes by, and that next fall Sam will be starting preschool. I'm feeling the need to spend as much time with him as I can and enjoy and appreciate it. I feel kinda guilty, though, like I should have paid closer attention to the other two before they took off to school. But I guess that's what mom's do best, huh? Feel guilty about something. Madelyn has started 3rd grade, and is already coming home talking about how things are different this year because, well, she's in third grade. Like how she gets to take out books from the whole library, not just the younger kids section. Like how they have to follow different rules on the playground, because they're the "bigger" kids. Like how the rules in class are a little stricter, since they are THIRD GRADERS. Twenty-five words on the spelling test, not twelve. Big time stuff. She seems very proud, and is looking (and sounding) more mature every day.

Christopher has started kindergarten, or will be within the next week. In his special education program, he will be placed in a regular ed Kindergarten class with an aid for about 1 1/2 hours a day, and then go back to his special ed class for the rest of the day, where he gets lots of support and speech and OT and PT. A big change for him this year. Plus, he'll be going to gym and music and library with the kindergarten class. And he'll be eating lunch in the gym instead of in his classroom. All good stuff, but all new stuff. He was pretty happy about starting school this year. I think he was craving the structure that I can't seem to give him at home. He'll also be starting Religious Education with Madelyn this year. DSC_0141

Lots of new stuff happening. This week and next are kind of calm, then all the extra activities start up. Lots to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

