daisies, and other stuff

Today is our last Daisy Scout meeting. I thought it would never end. Not because I don’t think it’s a worthwhile organization, not because I don’t enjoy seeing these 7 faces every couple of weeks, but because cramming this in while trying to get a not-so-newborn to take regular naps and taxi two other kids to school twice a day and keep a decently clean house is not as much fun as I thought it would be. Okay, that was a really long sentence… Anyway, I have decided to do this again next year. Why? Because I don’t like to quit things. And because even though we don’t have the most organized troop, or do the most creative things at our meetings, the girls love it. They look forward to it. And they are a sweet bunch of girls. And my girl likes being with mama. These days, there’s not as much time for just us girls. And she’s willing to share me with 6 other girls, just to get to do “girl stuff.” So, I’m gonna give it another shot. They’ve bridged to Brownies. That’s another 150 or so boxes of cookies to sell in November. So get your wallets ready…

222_2216_r1

That’s my Daisy, before her petals.

Other stuff… Well, there are officially 8 days of school left, including today, before summer vacation. Before my little girl becomes a FIRST GRADER. That’s big time, folks. So, good and bad about school being over. Good things, I get to sleep ’til 7:00 instead of 6:30, or whatever ungodly hour the baby kid decides it’s time to get up. I don’t have to rush out the door screaming, “we’re late, let’s go, move, Move, MOVE!!” every morning. I might, just might, be able to get the baby to take a nap at a regular time each day. I said, might. Bad things, I have to figure out what to do to keep them away from the TV for hours on end for the next three months. I’ll probably end up spending more money to take them out and keep them busy. What’s a momma to do? So, that’s it. I made it thorugh Kindergarten. I’m graduating. Only have to do it…how many more times? I can’t count, I’m too sleepy.

Leave a Reply

