careful what you wish for…

Dh has not been happy at work.  For a long time.  We talked about his options, he could quit, we could live off savings while he looked for work.  He could wait and see if it got better…tried that, didn’t work.  He could look for a job while working and then quit.  That was just too hard for him to do.  So we prayed that the answer would come.  And it did.  Dh was "let go."  According to rumblings from his former co-workers, they were told it was a "mutual agreement" between dh and his boss.  Yeah, not so much.  But luckily we were given a nice little benefit package to carry us over for a while without dipping into savings.  So, now he is free to look for a newer, better job, and I have him home for a while to help out with the kiddos.  Sounds great, huh?  Well, also not so much.   Don’t get me wrong.  It is so nice not to see him stressed out.  Yes, there is the stress of the unknown.  When will he find "the job?"  But it is nowhere near the stress he was having from the other, yucky job.   He sleeps more than 4 hours a night, and his stomach feels much better.  It’s only been 6 days and he’s commented how much more he notices about the kids.  I can now take a shower without leaving the door open and trapping my son in his crib.  I can plan to go out with friends during the week and not worry that he has to get up at some ungodly hour to take the train downtown.  So what is the not so great part, you might be wondering?  My schedule is now so messed up!!!  The house is no cleaner, and I’m getting places later than I was before.  I don’t get it.  One extra adult in the house, I am no longer outnumbered by the kids.  Things should run more smoothly, no?  NO!!  It’s not working.  I’m thinking that by the time we figure this out he’ll be off to another job and then I’ll be used to having him home and I’ll have to figure out how to do it alone all over again. Ugh!  For now, I’m going to have to think about the good stuff, I guess.  We’ll just take one day at a time.  It is nice having him home, nice to hear  him laugh and see him play with the kids.  That’s good stuff. 

3 thoughts on “careful what you wish for…

  1. That is great that he got away from an environment that was toxic for him. You’ll break into a new routine soon. (When we were going through our big transition this past spring, I was at home SO much more but things were more disheveled around here than ever! It took about four months to get into a new routine and get it fixed.)

  2. I hear you, my husband’s a teacher and actually just went back today… it is a difficult summer. Luckily, I work more during the summer (I’m a nurse) so it actually kinda works. We each get a taste of “each other’s” worlds.

Leave a Reply

