5 years

Img_1809 Today is my baby girl’s 5th birthday.  Today marks my 5 year anniversary of being a mama.  I cannot believe I have been a mom for 5 years.  Some days it feels like I know absolutely nothing.  Some days I feel like I’ve been a mom forever.  I do remember what it was like before I had children, but I could never imagine going back to that place again.  Not like it was bad, it was actually pretty good.  But this is way, way better. 

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

Babies smell good, even when they haven’t had a bath in days.

I actually was sad to stop nursing, both times.

Washable markers really do wash out, others do not.

Girls are easier than boys, and sometimes boys are easier than girls.  In other words,  there’s no such thing as easier anything.

You can get sick of french fries.  (I didn’t think it could happen)

You could do almost anything using only one hand.

The kids could care less if the house is a mess, if you’ve had a shower, or if you’ve lost the baby weight.  They think you’re perfect, ’cause you’re the mama, and when they need you, they need you.

You could feel like total crap, but if you’re kid is sick, you’re suddenly healed.

There is something about Blue’s Clues, The Wiggles, and LazyTown that appeals to moms too. (wink, wink)

Spelling out words (bad or otherwise) to your spouse around the kids doesn’t work forever.

There is nothing, absolutely nothing, in this world like that feeling that your heart is about to burst when your kid does or says something to you that makes you know you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing.  Sometimes I just have to look at them and feel like I could cry my heart hurts so much from the love.  Who knew?

That, my friends, is just the beginning…

11 thoughts on “5 years

  1. great list … all true. my firstborn turned five in february and it was like a lightbulb went off: “what do you mean he’s FIVE?!”
    weird, isn’t it? happy birthday to your sweetie-pie!

  2. Perfectly said. I hope you will do a layout with the list you just made. =)
    As a mommy of 5 months I am learning all about the “hurts so good” feelings. =)

  3. <>
    I just wanted to repeat this because I love it so much 🙂 Thank you for such an inspiring post! My only child, a son, just turned 5 in April, so I know exactly how you are feeling 🙂
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

