Taxi mom

One of these days I’m gonna have to keep track of all the miles I put on our mini van in one week.  I swear, sometimes I feel like I’m in that van more than I’m in my own house.  Back and forth, back and forth, day after day after day.  The kids have a much more exciting life than I ever did.  Playdates and playgroups and day camp and classes and t-ball.  And I thought I was keeping it simple this summer.  HA!  I have Mondays and Fridays "off."  And then, come Monday and Friday, leave it to me to schedule something else to keep us all busy.  What am I, nuts?  And then I complain that my house isn’t clean and I’m exhausted and I can’t get it all done.  Why can’t I just sit in my house for one entire day and just take care of what I need to take care of here?  I’m constantly "express cleaning,"  not getting everything done, just what people will see if they enter my house.  It wears me out, I tell ya.

But, there is a reason for the madness.  I don’t think I could stay home and find creative ways to entertain my children for the 5 out of 7 days a week that we are alone together.  Sure, I can play a mean game of Candyland, or whip out the playdough and sculpt beautiful pieces of art.  But for how long?  I have to leave some of the work to the professionals.  Those creative  kids at My Gym who have no children at home and have tons of energy to engage my kiddos.  My kids deserve the best, right? 

So,  off I go today, Friday, my day "off."  We’re gonna head off with Grandma to Sam’s club and probably have lunch somewhere.  It’s better than staying at home all day…

One thought on “Taxi mom

  1. whew. totally know what you mean about keeping them busy. g’s been wearing me out all summer trying to keep him entertained. so looking forward to going back to work (teaching) in the fall, so someone else can entertain him a few hours of the day. 😀

Leave a Reply

